About me

My name is Marc Hiatt. I retired in Feb, 2018, after serving 17 years as Worship Director and Office Admin at Or HaOlam Messianic Congregation in Overland Park, KS, where I am known as Mordekhi. Having become interested more in Israel, the Jewish people, and the Old Testament during the 90’s, the Lord placed us into this ministry in 2001. That was my introduction to Messianic Judaism and learning a little Hebrew. Although not Jewish by blood, as far as any family records reveal, I have a heart for Israel and the Jewish people. I consider myself to be a Messianic Gentile, a “Ruth,” as it were.

Prior to that, my wife Teresa (Yisraela at Or HaOlam) and I began leading worship together in churches around 1985. We have co-led ever since. She is a beautiful vocalist and worship leader, as well as often-times playing a djembe while vocally leading. I am not a vocalist, but I play keyboards and piano, and write songs, many of which are available to hear on youtube at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdZP37BeIAs&list=PLU58XQaaTibRqLZpc8rgfV82_cndePs2Y.

I have also recently uploaded my piano solo version of “The Battle Hymn of the Republic,” which was one of my Dad’s favorite songs, available also to view on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y-Q89bgCRSs.

In my early years, I was involved in traveling and playing for some Southern Gospel groups.

Teresa and I now are enjoying retirement in southern Missouri. We have two grown adult children with families of their own, blessing us with four grandchildren. My life has been filled with music and the Word of the Lord. What I listen to, play, and read is the background soundtrack to my life.

Please take a look at my other blog page, “Mordekhi’s Drash,” at: https://drashesbymordekhi.home.blog/.

I may be contacted via email at mati2339@gmail.com. See my Marc Hiatt page on Facebook; also our Hiatt & Hiatt page on Facebook.

Leave a comment